Dances With Ducks [The Writing of When I Found You I Found Me]

Photobucket

Well my second offering of tunes for my new CD entitled “Hardrock Acoustics” is now out there and starting to get legs of its own. Hardrock, by the way, denotes the name of the company that built the headframe depicted on the cover and not the style of music. Happy to say I’m getting good feedback, so I’ll take that as endorsement to press on and start work toward my third offering. Incidentally, I have four tunes I left off this offering and have a good part written for the remaining six tunes for my third offering which I plan to release Summer 2013. Thereafter, I am looking to get in the studio to get back to full production mode for my songs with the intent of publishing. In the meantime, I’ve been working on the performance aspect of career to compliment my songwriting efforts. Given all my demos are live off the floor with guitar and vocals only, it had not been a big stretch. That being said, I’d still like to explore producing the tunes with a full band. In any event, if you are so inclined, have a listen to When I Found You,I Found Me – the results of my songwriting endeavor that I will be focusing on in this post.

Photobucket

DANCES WITH DUCKS – The Writing of When I Found You. I Found Me

Just a little snippet of some insight into writing ” When I Found You, I Found Me” – one of tunes available on Hardrock Acoustics. I had been struggling to finish this song. Although I had a good part of it written, I still needed an additional verse and was thinking about adding a bridge. It was a nice sunny day and I was sitting at the computer trying to write. It just wasn’t happening, and given it was such a beautiful day, I felt some distraction to get out of the house and get to the beach. I guess it wasn’t too long, but soon found myself thinking about head out to the beach – and so I did. However, it also occurred to me that I might strap on my guitar and take along the song and have a go at it there. I was thinking a change of scenery might enable me better to take on the task at hand. With that I headed out to the “office” a.k.a. the park. The park is about a fifteen minute bike ride away, so I ventured out there on my trusty 18 speed Schwinn. Immediately upon arrival, I noted a couple nice picnic tables that would be appropriate to serve as an executive desk. With that, I placed my work essentials on the desk and went to work. Though I had no pesky office cubicle neighbors, I did have to contend with a family of ducks. Quack!

Photobucket

Well after all was assembled and I adjusted to my surroundings I felt with the refreshing breeze blowing off the lake and a host of birds chirping, I was ready to tackle writing. Funny thing though, it seems everyone is a critic these days. It seems moments after laying the paperwork for the song, I bird perched above my desk thought it be nice to send me a subtle message. Yep! A damn bird crapped on my sheet music. My immediate response was to shake my fist toward the treetop and quip. “Bird! you don’t know shit from shinola” After having said that, I realized that bird would have to be like 70 years old to get that reference. In any event, I carried on now with a vengeance to complete the song.

Photobucket

Happy to report the family of ducks nearby were no disturbed by my presence. The male of the species on occasion ventured right up to me seeking treats. Sadly, though I had none to offer, but have since gone back to return with treats. The mother of the species had seven ducklings in tow, but was neither distressed by my presence, however, she did keep her brood a distance from the shore. They happily swam around until about a half hour after me being there and decided to take up a mid-afternoon nap under a nearby cedar by the shore.

Photobucket

Well with all this inspiring scenery that Northwestern Ontario has to offer, I was able to successfully complete the remaining verse and bridge to my satisfaction. I was there for about an hour writing and rewriting. Only at one point the beach was visited by a group of youth who docked nearby and were playing on the playground equipment about 50 yards away. Their visit was short and their joyous laughter was shield somewhat by a band shell between me and them. However, the brief interlude was welcome as I took a break and waded in the water, all the while strumming my guitar with my flip flops on. It seemed to be shaping up as another tough day at the “office”. Sigh!

Photobucket

All in all, the afternoon went well. Just as a further note, I haven’t written too much outside of the home, but this could set a precedence – welcome precedence at that. I think sometimes of writing in a professional studio, but then I get to thinking about that environment being “stale”. To me, food atmosphere is a good infuse to writing as it is with eating at…say a good restaurant. Which brings to mind a joke I heard recently. Q: Did you hear about the new restaurant on the moon?
A: The food is great, but no atmosphere!

Photobucket

Here is the result of my afternoon of writing and dancing with ducks. Hope you enjoy it. BTW, if you see me wandering around somewhere, I generally have the CD on hand if that interests you. Quite proud of the work I completed this year. Thanks to those also who have extended their kind comments. As for that bird who pooped on my song sheet, well we’ll see what becomes of this tune. Anyways…listen

here! BTW. Press “Play” button upper right, once there.

Thanks for the visit!

Clarence

P.S. Looking to do some live performance stuff for YouTube soon. Will post when available. BTW, you may want listen to this tune also available on Hardrock Acoustics. So Goodnight, a partially non-fiction account of my youth.

And just for fun. I did up a little comic of my former characters featured in my strip “Duck Attitude” If you are not familiar with the strip or want to learn more go here.

Photobucket

Explore posts in the same categories: Music, My Original Music

Leave a Reply

