Zon – Put On A Show – LP to mp3 Tutorial

RAINY DAY EXPERIMENT – PART II

Part deux of my experiment of converting LPs to mp3s. I’ve reiterated the tech requirements and how-to below. This time I’m featuring the Canadian Classic Rockers, ZON and their song Put On A Show from the Astral Projector album. Can you tell I like my Classic Rock? I found this one at a Value Village I believe. If you want to take a moment, you can read more obut them at wikipedia here!. In any event, I’m thinking they sound a whole lot like early Styx!

To listen to Zon – Put On A Show now, simply click here!

Here’s the how-to. Quite simple really.

TECH STUFF

I used the free Audacity software program and it worked fine! [Download link below,] Incidentally, when you download Audacity, you also have to download the “LAME” plug-in to convert the default sampled [wav] file to [mp3]. Keep and save the sample as “wav” if you want to burn to a playable CD or However, “Export as mp3” for your player. The info to download LAME is explained at the Audacity site. As a further note. Myself, I generally use Adobe Audition for refined clean up of clicks and pops. However, if your LP is in relatively good shape then Audacity works great with it’s click and pop removal found in its Effect dropdown menu. You can download Audacity here!

Oh, and almost forgot. As for hooking up your turntable, you can find turntables out there that come equipped with a USB plug. In the event you are using an older model with an RCA plug, then be sure to find an RCA to a 1/8 inch mini-plug adapter plug at your favorite electronic store for a couple of bucks. This will allow you to plug your “record player” into either the LINE IN or MIC plug in on your laptop or tower. That’s it! OH! You may have to play with your settings for Audio/Recording to set to LINE IN or MIC to detect the turntable. This can be found in your CONTROL PANEL. I think that’s it? Good luck and happy converting! šŸ™‚

P.S. If you are so inclined and would like a download visit here! We’ll see how long it stay there. I don’t want to infringe, but this is for the purpose of education. I ranted at the link a bit at the link. Forgive me. Anywaaaays…

P.S.S. On a lighter note, my 8 year old nephew was visiting. I thought it might be a good idea to scan and print two copies of the Album art. So I did! Then I cut the “Astral Projector” face such that it resembled the Lone Ranger mask by cutting out the “eyes”. We did this on the sly then went into the kitchen. We ended up scaring the hell out of his Mom. So, you see, not only am I a Tech Geek, I am a very well-rounded geek in general. šŸ™‚

Explore posts in the same categories: My LP to mp3 Songs

2 Comments on “Zon – Put On A Show – LP to mp3 Tutorial”

  1. Chris Says:

    I love audicity got some cool plugins such as remove noise…not my classic rock style… this tune…. but nice website here…keep it up there fellow blogger

  2. Dan B Says:

    Dude.. I dont know who you are but we should definantly connect.. that is 2 rare hard to find albums you posted and 2 favorite of mine.. being in the red and now Zon? I just got the new Wireless No Static from Europe re mastered to 24 bit digital sound and I have other rare hard to find and expensive stuff to explore… so you got my email address.. give me a shout if your interested to connect and share some music experiences and discover some outragious music form the 70’s and 80’s that is out there we dont know about.. cheers… Dan ( rock collector )


Leave a Reply

