Tim Hardin – Songwriter

Today I was just flipping through my extensive collections of LPs found at Thrift Shops and Garage Sales and decide to convert some to mp3s. The first LP that caught my eye today was that of Tim Hardin. Suprising what you find at garage sales huh? In any event, if you are not familiar with him, then you have very likely heard his songs covered by other artists. Just a note to say that this is somewhat rare, even for myself, to have discovered the original versions of these songs. Just thought I’d share a couple with you. So, with that being said, here a couple I have often included in my set list during my live performances at open mics and now I/we finally get to hear them as Tim originally performed them. I enjoyed this find, I hope you do too!

About the artist! Timothy James Hardin (December 23, 1941 – December 29, 1980) was an American folk musician and composer. He is best remembered for writing the Top 40 hits “If I Were a Carpenter and “Reason to Believe”.

Tim Hardin - Back Cover

“Reason to Believe” has been covered by : Paul Weller, Billy Bragg, The Youngbloods, Rod Stewart, Ron Sexsmith, Wilson Phillips, Gary Lewis & the Playboys, The Carpenters, Marianne Faithfull, Bobby Darin, Glen Campbell, The Kingston Trio, Weddings Parties Anything, Mason Williams and by the Israeli singer Arik Einstein. Listen to it here.

“If I Were A Carpenter” has been covered by: Wes Carr, Stan Webb’s Chicken Shack, Bobby Darin, Johnny Cash and June Carter, The Four Tops, Leon Russell, Rod Stewart, Doc Watson, Joan Baez (as “If You Were a Carpenter”), The Nice, Small Faces, Robert Plant, Leonard Nimoy, John Holt, Bob Seger, and Ramblin’ Jack Elliot. Listen to it here.

Finally, just for good measure, I found this little gem I heard for the first time and decided to include it. If you’re like me, and a lot of my other songwriting friends, we all hold in high regard the timeless songs of Hank Williams. Here is Tim’s tribute to the man entitled, ” Tribute to Hank Williams”. It can be found here.

" I don't know DuDar, but thanks to DuDAR and garage sales!"

\

FYI. The Best of Tim Hardin was released on Verve Records 1969. The Long Play Album includes: Don’t Make Promises, It’ll Never Happen Again, Tribute to Hank Williams, Misty Roses, How Can We Hang On To A Dream, If I Were A Carpenter, Reason To Believe, Black Sheep Boy, Red Balloon, Smugglin’ Man and Lady Came From Baltimore.

To learn more about Tim Hardin, click here.

Explore posts in the same categories: mp3s My Record Collection

Leave a Reply

